| Follow Us: Facebook Twitter Youtube RSS Feed



Jammie Awards XIX: Grand Rapids Grammys

The timing of the annual Grammys Awards ceremony is always an exciting time because it means that we are just a few days away from our own local music awards show, The Jammies.

Recognizing West Michigan's best albums and songs of 2017, the Jammies XIX, presented by WYCE 88.1 FM, used to be held on a weeknight until 2013 when the event took a huge leap under then station director Kevin Murphy’s leadership and vision. And to say the least, there has been no going back since this move brought so much fresh energy to the two stages it is held on Friday night.

Now the awards show has become a cultural flashpoint for our area music fans who show up en masse to cheer on their favorite acts.

And if you think this will be just another Jammies, then look at the XIX lineup scheduled to perform this year at the Intersection. And don’t leave after the awards since WYCE invites you to stay for an after party featuring Desmond Jones.

WYCE Jammie Awards XIX Official Lineup, which includes many acts who have never performed before at our local awards show:

Showroom Stage
5:30 Wicker Basket
6:00 Award Presentation: Listener Choice Awards [Best Album & Best Album by a New Artist]
6:05 Dan Rickabus
6:23 Award Presentation: Special Jury Prize [Best Album & Best New Artist] (Critics Choice)
6:28 Cameron Blake
6:46 Award Presentation: The "Traditions!" Award & Best Roots/Revival Album
6:51 The Founding
7:09 Award Presentation: Electronic Album of the Year & Hip-Hop Album
7:14 Yolonda Lavender
7:32 Award Presentation: Best Jazz Album
7:37 Jake Kershaw
7:55 Award Presentation: Best Rock or Pop Album
8:00 Mark Lavengood
8:18 Award Presentation: Best Blues/Soul Album of the Year
8:23 Hollywood Makeout
8:41 Award Presentation: Best Americana Album
8:46 organissimo
9:04 Award Presentation: Best Alternative Album
9:09 May Erlewine
9:30 Award Presentation: Best Contemporary Folk
9:50 Lipstick Jodi
Award Presentation: Song of the Year
10:15 ConvoTronics
Award Presentation: Best New Artist
10:35 Afro Zuma
10:55 Award Presentation: Album of the Year

The Stache Stage
5:40 B-Side Growlers
6:10 Brian Koenigsknecht
6:40 Thunderbolt & Lightfoot
7:05 Hannah Laine
7:30 Justin Avdek & The Underground Circus
8:00 Bigfoot Buffalo
8:25 Blushing Monk
8:55 Major Murphy
9:20 Tom Hymn
9:50 Hannah Rose & The GravesTones
10:15 Lazy Genius

All Ages Welcome | Doors: 5:30PM
$5 Suggested donation to your community radio station WYCE
Signup for Email Alerts